Here, There and Everywhere

Sasha and Malia

From The Adventures of Sasha and Malia at the White House by Carol Francois and P Segal.

Preface by Carol Francois

The Adventures of Sasha and Malia at the White House is a story that came to me in a dream one night not long after the inauguration of President Barack Obama. At the time I didn’t know what (if anything) I would do with the story, but because it was interesting to me, I decided to write down what I could remember, just in case I wanted to do something it it in the future. Eventually I asked my friend P Segal to help me develop it into the book that you now hold in your hands.

I met Jay Mazhar, the illustrator, online through Craigslist. I still don’t know what he looks like, but thanks to his expert skills, he was able to bring the story to life.

I decided to publish this book because young people are not always taught about racism, slavery and the unpleasant parts of America’s past. I realized that children growing up today might think that because we have a Black president, such opportunities might have always existed for people of color in this country. Throughout U.S. history, many Black leaders have fought for a more fair and ust society, thus paving the way for President Obama to achieve this great honor.

Someone once said to me, “The pioneers don’t always get to settle the land.” It was because of courageous leaders such as Frederick Douglass, Martin Luther King Jr., Malcolm X, Shirley Chisholm, Barbara Jordan and even my own father, the late Terry A. Francois, that people of color have been able to manifest the great works that they were destined to achieve.

Read more about The Adventures of Malia and Sasha at the White House.

Leave a Reply

Tag Cloud

