Here, There and Everywhere

Dear Gabriel,

Since reinstatement of the death penalty in the U.S., 140 innocent men and women have been freed from death row.

The SAFE California Act will replace California’s death penalty with a sentence of life in prison with no chance of parole as the maximum punishment for murder. This means convicted killers will remain behind bars forever – but with no risk of executing an innocent person.

Please support the SAFE California Act to replace the death penalty with life without parole.

Thanks for all you do!

Bob Fertik

Dear Activist,

Texas executed an innocent man in 1989. That is the stunning conclusion of a groundbreaking new report published recently by Columbia University that shows Carlos De Luna was wrongfully convicted and executed for a crime he did not commit.

The news shook me to my core: It could have been me.

I was wrongfully convicted when I was 16 years old and served 20 years in prison before proving my innocence. I was mistaken for the true killer, just like Carlos De Luna. That terrible mistake took two decades of freedom from me — but it took Carlos De Luna’s life.

I need your help to make sure California never executes an innocent person:

Click here to sign my petition supporting the SAFE California Act this November — an initiative to replace the death penalty with life in prison without parole!

Each moment I’ve spent with family and friends since proving my innocence has been full of joy.

But I can’t stop thinking about Carlos De Luna’s family and friends. How will they ever experience that kind of joy again? How will they ever believe again that justice will prevail, knowing that Carlos was executed for a crime he did not commit?

If there’s one thing my wrongful conviction taught me, it’s that mistakes can always be made. The only way to guarantee that no innocent person is ever put to death in California is to replace the death penalty with life in prison with no possibility of parole.

Protect the innocent in California: Sign my petition supporting the SAFE California Act to replace the death penalty today.

Every wrongful conviction is a tragedy, but with the death penalty that tragedy becomes irreversible.

That’s why I must speak for Carlos De Luna — and we all must. Please help me get the message out: The time has come to replace the death penalty in California, to protect the innocent, and make California safer for all families.

Together, we will ensure that no innocent person is ever executed here in California.

Sincerely,
Franky Carrillo

P.S. Please stand up and make your voice heard: Sign my petition supporting the SAFE California Act to replace the death penalty today!

Leave a Reply

Tag Cloud

